5 Basic Time Management Skills for College Students

Although the adjustment from high school to college was not horrible for me, it was quite a wake up call. I went from never studying for anything to spending most of my free time reading my textbooks–something that was completely unnecessary in high school. Through my first semester of college I learned quite a few tricks to managing my time without constantly having my nose in my Biology textbook. These really helped me make the most of the time I had and I hope that they can do the same for you.

  1. Keep a Planner
    I know what you’re thinking. Who wants to walk around with a planner and actually write down everything you have to do? No one of course, but I learned that this is probably the easiest and simplest way to make sure you’re doing everything you need to do for class and anything else you plan to do. I really love my planner and I would have struggled to keep up with everything without it.
  2. Make a Schedule
    As horrible and boring as this sounds try to make a schedule and go by it as much as possible. If you get in the routine of doing what you always need to do (homework, workout, clean, etc.) on a schedule and do it the same time and day each week it will greatly help in your time management. 
  3. Don’t Skip Class
    Just because your professor doesn’t have an attendance policy doesn’t mean you should skip class whenever you want. Skipping class could not only hurt your grade but it would also interrupt your schedule and that could be pretty bad if you’re really used to your routine.
  4. Wake Up & Go to Bed Routinely
    I know this sounds crazy. You’re in college and you don’t want a bed time and you want to wake up when you want. That’s completely understandable. However, if you get in the habit of waking up at 7 for your 8 a.m. class you will eventually get used to it and waking up won’t be quite the struggle that it usually is. Going to bed at a reasonable hour (11-12) could also help with the morning struggle.
  5. Don’t Procrastinate
    I am the absolute world’s worst to procrastinate. It’s one of my favorite things to do but this should definitely not be my mindset, or anyone else’s for that matter. If you go by what you have written down in your planner and set a routine for yourself procrastinating should be near impossible but we all mess up. I suggest taking breaks and setting goals for yourself while studying so you’re not getting stressed out or overloaded with information.

I hope that these tips will help you throughout your spring semester and the rest of your college career. Don’t beat yourself up if it takes you a little while to get in the habit of writing everything in your planner or if your routine slips up–we all mess up. I know that they have been lifesavers to me and without them my first semester would have turned into a nightmare. Don’t let this semester get the best of you.

Leave a Reply

